November 16

Artists Collaborate, Creates Original art

The way I have collaborated in class is, that my table and I worked together,to create a box out of slabs.This process was somewhat difficult because not only did we have to work together, but we had to also work productively. I had four other group member help me with this project. One girl and I worked on connecting the bottom slab with the slabs that were to be the walls. Another group member coiled some clay so we could make a stronger connection between the walls. 2 other group member worked on smoothing the box. Another way that I experienced artists collaborate is that we had to comment on other peoples blog posts. As I was commenting this showed me problems that I could have fixed in writing my post. Also when other students comment on my blog post, it also helped show me how I could have done things differently. By working on projects, or commenting on each others posts, it helps me participate more as an art community member.

I created original art, but no art comes without inspiration. My inspiration for my utilitarian project was the Maria Martinez pots. The way she had a curve like pot helped me in shaping mine. I added some of my ideas like making a larger lip and base. I did not color my pot yet, but i am choosing to color it red, with black geometric designs. I choose to color it red because this pot is for my mother, and she likes the color red.  The black geometric design came from some of the Mimbres pottery. I will also probably color the inside of my pot black to give it a sort of depth. I also created a robot, from using the 2 pinch pots combined together. My inspiration for this is my sister, since she likes robots.. Another idea is that I will shape the body of the Robot into a rectangle.  I created the head, and then I decided I should make it like a coin container. So I started making a hole in the head and body. The arms were difficult for me but as I was looking around,I saw another robot with hands that are an ideal shape for me. Then I created a control panel in the front to give it a more robot like characteristic. My 2 original artworks consisted of my ideas, and other ideas that were a source of inspiration.

imageimageimage


Posted November 16, 2016 by rahaf1sc20 in category Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*